Final Major Project · Research

Man vs. Nature

This weekend I made a start on my Final Major Project and shot some initial images up at Brimham Rocks in North Yorkshire. As mentioned in my previous post, the aim of this project is to show the size and scale of the environment in comparison to humans, and emphasize the idea that humans cannot control nature no matter how superior they think they are. The trip went well and I think I got some good starting images – I tried a few as silhouettes to accentuate the size and shape of the rocks against the human form, and show how overpowering and threatening nature can be when put into context. I think the silhouettes work really well, but I also like the other images which show the detail and textures in the rock formations. I will have to play around with techniques and different angles to find what style works best for this project but I think the location was a great choice – I will maybe visit again and re-shoot a few of them once I’ve worked out the best way to do so. Here are a couple of my favourite images that I took:


Brimham Rocks_53Brimham Rocks_29

Later this week I will be heading back home to the Lake District to do some more shoots in different locations including mountain tops, lake sides, and woodlands. For the shoot at Brimham rocks I used a model but when I visit the Lakes I am also going to try a few self-portraits using my tripod and a trigger remote – this is something I have never really done before so I’m not sure how well it will go! Look out for updates from the Lake District next week…

Leave a Reply

